Picnics at ready for The Big Lunch

Published on: 30 May 2017

FRIENDS of Page Park are keeping their fingers crossed for sunshine as they prepare for The Big Lunch this weekend.

The event - on Sunday June 4 from 11am-4pm - is an opportunity for the neighbourhood to meet up in Page Park and enjoy music on the bandstand in a beautiful setting. There will also be children's entertainment, face-painting, stalls and food.

Families are being encouraged to bring along a picnic and blankets and make the event a fun-filled day for people of all ages.

Meanwhile, building work on the cafe and community building is steaming ahead and everything is on track to be opened by the end of July.

Steph Purser, vice chair of the Friends, said: "It's all going well at the moment and we are looking forward to the cafe opening towards the end of July."

Further planting will also take place over the coming months.

Ongoing work to improve the park has been made possible thanks to a £1.6 million lottery grant and additional funding secured by the Friends of Page Park, which will pay for additional improvements in the park, including planting schemes, new paths and the restoration of the clocktower.

 

Future park dates for your diary:

 

Sunday June 4
The Big Lunch, 11am-4pm, a community party in the park including children’s rides and entertainment

Saturday June 24
Armed Forces Day, from 10.30am, a chance show your support for the men and women who make up the Armed Forces community

Sunday June 11 Salvation Army band and choir concert

Sunday July 2
Westerly Winds concert

Sunday July 9
Salvation Army band and choir concert

Sunday July 30
Bands in the Park

Sunday August 13
Salvation Army band and choir concert

Sunday September 10 

Salvation Army band and choir concert

Saturday September 16
Bark in the Park, celebrate your pooches at this popular dog show

Saturday October 28
Pumpkin Patch, enjoy the harvest with free pumpkin carving, rides and entertainment

Sunday November 12 Remembrance service at the war memorial

Saturday December 16
Carols around the Clocktower, a with the Salvation Army

Comments (0)






Add a new comment:* (Allowed tags: <b><i><br>)

*Mandatory fields